Absolute beginner!!! Help :)

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by Sofi, Dec 13, 2013.

1. Sofi

Sofi Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 12, 2012
    Raleigh/Garner, NC
    Hi, everybody!

I've been wanting to have chickens for a long time. Finally, last week, my husband gave me this coop for my birthday!!!! I am so happy and excited to embark on my chicken adventure!

I've never done this before and I have a myriad of questions.

Here's a pic of my coop:
    [​IMG]

The size is 120.5" X 41" X 48". We assembled it on our deck, but it's going in our big back yard. I ordered an electric fence from Premier since we have lots of raccoons and foxes around here.

My (first) questions are:

1- How many birds can I house here? Coop has 3 slots inside the nesting box. They will have additional room to range once I get my electric netting (should be here next week). I'd like to have 3/4 birds, but I don't want to crowd them.

2- Do I need to cover the top window during the winter or do they need it for ventilation? I live in Raleigh, NC. Winters can get cold but they're fairly mild. It might get to the teens occasionally but that's about it.

3- Any ideas on how to build a door for my coop?

Thanks a lot in advance!!

2. QuailRaiser

QuailRaiser Chillin' With My Peeps

3 to 4 birds is perfect as long as you let them out to forage and range. the hole can stay open, most chickens can endure to -10 C (I don't use farenhight, sorry). as for a door, you could cut one into the inside(house) of the coop, and use hinges and a lock, with a ramp for the chickens to get down

1 person likes this.
  3. Sofi

Oct 12, 2012
    Raleigh/Garner, NC
    Very helpful, thanks!!

4. jonsccm

jonsccm Chillin' With My Peeps

think about 4 sq feet of covered space per chicken. Bantams not as much. It looks like the house is 4' X 4' 16 sq feet that's 4 standard size, you could get away with maybe 5 / 6 small bantams.