Accidental male in small flock - what am I in for?

doreentheduck

In the Brooder
May 16, 2022
So I'm new to ducks, was randomly given two Magpie ducklings 6months ago and they're now part of the family. They are females. Free-range on our residential property.

We recently, added two similarly aged MagpieXPekin ducks, which we thought were female.. until today.

The obvious curled feather has made a shock appearance... which set off a realisation that he/she is a little bigger than their sibling she arrived with, aaaand i'm pretty sure has the different quack.

What are we in for by having 3 lovely ladies, and 1 drake? I hadn't at all planned on having a fella in the mix, can anyone enlighten me on what this will entail?

Please realize that my only experience is with runner ducks, so this may or may not apply to yours. Since you only have one drake with three females, things may be fine. My problems arise when my drakes decide to fight over the girls.

My drakes are well-behaved guys most of the year. But, in the spring when hormones run rampant, they constantly want to romance the girls -- to the point that some girls have no feathers left on the top of their heads. None of my girls has been injured (unless you count being extreme ragged looking). Once the hormones kick down, all is well.

In fact, yesterday my younger drake demonstrated some "gentlemanly" behavior. One of the girls prefers to lay her eggs far outside the shelter in a makeshift nest. Layne stood guard over Sloane the entire time, until she finished her work and returned with him to the flock.

Good luck with your boy!

Having a 3-1 ratio isn't necessarily something that's going to go bad. Four to six hens is recommended per drake but sometimes drakes aren't too crazy with the mating. It just depends.