Acclamation your dog to the chickens

jbcmom

In the Brooder
6 Years
Apr 21, 2013
South Bend GO IRISH
Hello all! Newbie here and I will have tons of questions I'm sure. We would like to get some chicks soon and I was wondering how you get your dogs used to the idea of chickens. We have 2 small dogs, Oliver is a Maltese and Silky Terrier, he LOVES chasing and catching rabbits and squirrels, he's only been successful twice in his life but I'm afraid he would spend all day just barking at them in their coop or in a chicken tractor. I have no plans on letting them just roam around unless the dogs are inside. Also, we have a chain link fence and were wondering if we should get a privacy fence that would be higher.

Dogs and chickens...chickens and dogs. That's a pretty contentious issue on BYC. Some say that dogs are just another predator to worry about so why have one when you have chickens. Others (like me) have dogs that get along great with their flocks. Mine, in fact, have never hurt a chicken but have kept predators away - including killing potential chicken thieves, even a coyote! To get a wide range of perspectives post the words dogs and chickens into the BYC search bar...and sit down for a long read!! Good luck to you!