ACH! Power outage

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by mediazeal, Oct 13, 2009.

1. mediazeal

mediazeal Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 26, 2009
    I woke up this morning to the flashing alarm clock at 12:00AM
    bummer, I have 26 eggs in the incubator.
    Not sure how long it was out in the night, it's been popping on and off for less than a minute at a time all day. Was off for 35 minutes at one point and I covered the incubator with a down quilt to keep the heat in. Got down to about 93 degrees in there by the time the power came back on.
    I'm on day 3
    What do you guys think?
    Storm is not over yet.

2. Happy Chooks

Happy Chooks Moderator Staff Member

Jul 9, 2009
    Northern CA
    My Coop
    I'm no expert (1st time hatching here) but momma hens get off their eggs to eat/drink/poop, so the eggs must cool down a bit then, right? I bet they will be fine.

3. rebelcowboysnb

rebelcowboysnb Confederate Money Farm Premium Member

They need air more than they need heat. My incubator is outside an we had an outage that lasted around 24 hours last winter. Other than hatching a day late, I couldn't tell any change in hatch rates from my normal. I think it was in the 50s that day.

Last edited: Oct 13, 2009
  4. mediazeal

Feb 26, 2009
    Quote:Wow, that is very hopeful.
    I had multiple outages today, some lasting an hour or so. The temps got down to 84 inside the incubators. And it happened several times. I will candle next weekend and see if anyone made it. Well, I'll candle the ameraucana eggs at least
    I cant' see a thing ever in the black copper maran eggs.
    I'm worried I will have high losses.
    thanks for your encouraging experience!

5. gumpsgirl

gumpsgirl Overrun With Chickens Premium Member

Mar 25, 2008
    Virginia