Acting Weird AFTER Egg Bound?

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by antiqsolo, Feb 12, 2017.

1. antiqsolo

antiqsolo Out Of The Brooder

Sep 28, 2016
    Hey all,

My RIR, Coco, was acting strange a few days ago. I left her overnight, thinking she was just feeling off, but in the morning it was apparent something was wrong. Now, I'm new to this, so Google is my friend. I quickly figured out she was egg bound, brought her into the bathroom, gave her the full spa treatment and left her to do her thing. It wasn't until the next morning that she passed the egg. I regret not taking a picture of it. It looked like a half-dehydrated, absolutely shell-less mess. It wasn't all over the place, it was very compact, but the yolk looked cooked.

Now, I'd asked a homesteading group on Facebook what they thought (before Coco passed the egg) and someone mentioned Marek's... so I've kept her in isolation. I am hoping she just misses her friends now... However, she is still not drinking or eating unless I hold the food up to her face, she stands in the kennel and stares at me, looks around a bit.. she seems reluctant to walk (it's a big kennel, she can walk in there). Is she just tired? Does she need more rest? Or should I put her back in the coop? She seemed lethargic and off balance before she passed the egg, and now she has more control of her body. She's very aware, not lethargic.. just seems, off. This is a chicken that would run up to me in the coop for her morning hug; I don't know what's going on. I want to put her back with the others but if she has Marek's I don't want to pass it along any more than I may have already..

2. ChickenCanoe

ChickenCanoe Chicken Obsessed

Nov 23, 2010
    St. Louis, MO
    Doesn't sound like Marek's.
    Likely all related to the egg binding. A shell-less egg is difficult to pass.
    What was she eating up till the problems started?

3. antiqsolo

Sep 28, 2016