Addicted to Chicks...

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by lattefrog, Jul 3, 2011.

1. lattefrog

lattefrog New Egg

Jul 3, 2011
    Hi! My name is Christine, and I'm a school teacher who wanted to take on a summer project. So... Why not get chicks?

We live in a 100+ year old farmhouse out in the country, so we need to finally put some real farm animals on it:

Our first four girls are now about 3 weeks old (boy do they grow fast) 3 Silver Laced Wyandottes, and a Black Langshan. (Sateen, Harmony, Fern and Gaga (aka GG). Then about a week later we got 5 more: Buff Orpington (Honey), RIR (Ruby, although my daughter named her Omelette), Blue Langshan (Sapphire now GISELLE) I have a question about this one, as her name may change again!! - Australorp (Ada Monroe), & Plymouth Rock (Marilla) and 3 days later when the new batch arrived at the Feed Store, we went back for our Ameraucanas (Poppy & Cordelia) and our Buff Orpington rooster (Tango- I know--- everyone is freaking out that we got a rooster, but the market had one and he's very mellow). I was only going back for the 3 but saw a Black Silky and in honor of my friend whose birthday it was, I got her and named her Marisol, and my 15 year old son was with me and I decided to get him a Sicilian Buttercup and we found the name Fiorella which means little flower. He thought is was perfect, so those are our new babies, and they are like babies. I fuss and coo over them every morning. My family thinks I've lost my mind and have begun calling me the Chicken Lady.