Adding a rooster...Tips?

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by jackhorn01, Feb 27, 2013.

1. jackhorn01

jackhorn01 Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 10, 2012
    Logansport, Louisiana
    I ordered a rhode island red cockerel in addition to my new chicks. When hes out of the brooder and old enough do I incorporate him in just like I would any new pullet or just throw him in and let him try to gain control lol. I am new to the rooster thing, and want one just because I like listening to them crow and just like them in general. He will be in with 5 other rhode island reds, 2 barred rocks, 3 buff orphingtons, 2 partridge rocks, 2 jersey giants, 3 cuckoo marans, and 3 red stars. First off if I ever did decide I wanted to hatch some eggs, I would probably only want to raise the pure rhode island reds. I do know however, from reading certain breeds are able to hatch with others and certain ones are not. Anyone know which of these if any would be compatible with the rhode island red rooster? Reasons why i shouldn't try it if I got bored? lol.... Also would I have to stop putting laying pellets in the coop since hes in there or just offer something else along with it?

2. nova022

nova022 Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 3, 2012
    I would incorporate him with your other new chicks. It is always easier to be one of several. I think that all of the breeds you mentioned will be okay to breed with your Roo, but there are far more knowledgeable people than me, so I will chick back to see what they think.

3. Den in Penn

Den in Penn Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 15, 2011
    SE Pa.
    Integrate him the same time you do the chicks he has grown up with.

The problem with different breeds interbreeding is usually size difference, bantams and large fowl. Chickens are all one specie. I don't know off hand that any two breeds can't make fertile eggs together.