Adding chickens

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by shaky, Apr 15, 2008.

1. shaky

shaky Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 15, 2008
    Austin
    As a complete newbie to owning chickens, I have a few questions:
    1. Please recommend an all-around go-to book to follow.
    2. We have 3 young Orp. hens. Can I put bantams with the Orps?
    3. If so, please recommend a bantam I can keep with the big orps (good with beginners, friendly, decent egg layers.)
    4. Are there any rules to follow when it comes to cold weather?

We are in Austin, TX. My wife and kids thought chicks would be a good addition, so we got some for Easter. I built a coop and run 11' total length.
    I'd like to add a bantam for myself just because they are so interesting.
    PS-it's a neighborhood home with a backyard coop - no Roos allowed.

2. shaky

Apr 15, 2008
    Austin
    Also -
    1. I can't find much info on where/how to place the roost
    2. Clip wings to keep them from flying into the neighbor's yard? Is that necessary with hens?

3. cjeanean

cjeanean Can't Decide

Mar 5, 2008
    Missouri
    I've heard mixed stories about clipping wings, some people prefer it, others don't because if a predator gets in with the chickens the only way they can get away is by flying... [​IMG]

4. cjeanean

cjeanean Can't Decide

Mar 5, 2008
    Missouri
    As far as what breeds you want, I've got several, all of them together. I think the only time you want to keep the breeds separate is if you're planning to breed, but I've got buff orps, jersey giants ( [​IMG] ), leghorns, RIR, NHR, and a few others, all together in my flock of 20. I'm also getting some white rocks and cochins. I'm thinking about using those for breeding, so I might keep those separate. I'm not sure. I don't have any bantams, so I can't tell u anything about them, but here's a link for chicken breeds you might want to look at:

http://www.ithaca.edu/staff/jhenderson/chooks/chooks.html