Adding chicks in the spring!

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by Roy Rooster, Jan 8, 2017.

1. Roy Rooster

Roy Rooster Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 9, 2010
    Tennesee Smoky Mts.
    Hi all,

I plan on adding some new chicks to my flock this spring. I have never done this before. The Newby's will have their own digs so they will not share the same coop and pen.

My question particularly is, what is the risk of infection to my current flock if I bring new chicks on to the property? I have heard that adding new birds can cause the established flock to get sick. Is this the same for adding new chicks from a reputable breeder? I am ordering 6 chicks from my pet chicken. Any advise or information from those who have done this before would be great!

Thanks

2. azygous

azygous Chicken Obsessed

Dec 11, 2009
    Colorado Rockies
    The risk of infection from new birds applies mostly to adult or juvenile chickens. However, people have run into a lot of grief by buying chicks from "meets" and disreputable breeders.

MPC is a very good outfit. They run a breeding program using Amish certified breeders and lease incubation space at Meyer Hatchery in Ohio. You won't run any risk of these chicks infecting your flock.

3. Roy Rooster

Jun 9, 2010
    Tennesee Smoky Mts.
    Thank you so much. That makes me feel so much better. I have never added chicks before so I was unsure if it was going to cause illness to my current flock. Thanks again.

4. lazy gardener

lazy gardener True BYC Addict

Nov 7, 2012
    CENTRAL MAINE
  5. Ridgerunner

Ridgerunner Chicken Obsessed

Feb 2, 2009
    Northwest Arkansas
    I agree with Azygous, you should be fine. It’s not the age of the chicks but where they come from. Major hatcheries that have been around a while have very strict biohazard security. They are not going to stay in business long if they start selling diseased chicks. I do not worry about bringing in new diseases with hatchery chicks from an established hatchery.