Adding eggs to the incubator?

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by fobpatdgurl18, May 11, 2011.

1. fobpatdgurl18

fobpatdgurl18 Out Of The Brooder

May 11, 2011
    North Wilkesboro
    I'm new to this and I can't seem to find anywhere about after you start incubating can you add eggs? I know that it can cool down the temps in the incubator but can you do it? If so then how late should/could you add eggs into the incubator? It might be a silly question but I honestly don't know. I understand if you add eggs late then when you take the egg turner out to hatch the first batch you might have to hand turn the eggs until the eggs hatch? What about lockdown?

2. pruitt514

pruitt514 Out Of The Brooder

Jan 17, 2011
    Suches, Ga
    You really need a second incubator if you are going to try a staggered hatch. You can use the second one for a hatcher and the first one just for incubation. If you do it that way you can add eggs when ever you want to. I marked the dates on the large end of the shell that way you know how far along they are.

3. fobpatdgurl18

fobpatdgurl18 Out Of The Brooder

May 11, 2011
    North Wilkesboro
    That's a good idea. Maybe I can make one or find one pretty cheap for sale and then I could hatch out whatever whenever. Thank you for the tip!

4. chick4smiles

chick4smiles Out Of The Brooder

Apr 22, 2011
    Adirondacks