Additional supplies needed after purchase of 1588 w auto turner?

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by SilverPhoenix, Jan 5, 2010.

1. SilverPhoenix

SilverPhoenix Bantam Fanatic

Dec 15, 2009
    Penn Valley, CA
    Apologies for asking kind of obvious questions... I'm new to the world of incubating and wasn't sure where to find the answer. I'm just about to order my 1588 Genesis with Auto Turner ([​IMG]), and before I place my order I want to ask if there's anything else I should be ordering to get me started. I have eggs ready to go and already growing (under my broody, but she's already going to have chicks a week or two before these eggs hatch), so I want to be certain I'm not going to mess up.

Does the thermometer that comes with the incubator measure humidity, or do I need to purchase a hydrometer separately in order to measure and manage the humidity? Also, I know this is auto preset for hatching chicken eggs--how long should I leave it running to stabilize the temperature and all before putting my eggs in there? I'm sure the manual will go over that, but I'd like to know ahead of time so I can plan ahead. Is there anything else I'm going to need that's essential? I have a flashlight for candling and have been candling my broody's eggs, so that's covered. I just want to get my eggies in there and doing well ASAP as they're already growing and I want mama to focus on her two that are getting close to hatching.

Anyway, any help is appreciated! I want to place my order soon so my 'bator can be shipped in the morning. [​IMG]

2. lemurchaser

lemurchaser Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 11, 2008
    Corvallis, OR
    additional thermometer and a hydrometer are the 2 things I can think of. You want to have multiple ways to check everything.