Adopted a flock, got a Roo that's the Odd-Breed-Out...What is he?

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by DawnB, Oct 7, 2012.

1. DawnB

DawnB Chillin' With My Peeps

So, we adopted/rescued an established flock. It's made up of mostly BR's, but I've got one roo that's red. Thought he may be a RIR based on pics I've seen on the interwebs...but really, I'm a newbie and have no clue...[​IMG]. When we asked the previous owner, he said he didn't think he was a RIR, but didn't really elaborate on if he knew what he was either...

So, I'm turning to the experts...What the heck is he?? He got a little plucked over (the birds were in WAY to small a space before). His neck feathers are starting to grow back in nicely...

He's one of 3 roo's that came with the flock...the other 2 are BR's and believe it or not, all 3 are very well behaved. This one, he likes to pose for pics!

In the sunlight, his tail feathers are green/black irridescent.

Thanks!!

[​IMG]

2. jules1329

jules1329 Out Of The Brooder

Jun 26, 2012
    South-Central Kentucky
    I don't know what he is, either, but he's pretty. It's so wonderful you're giving them a new home.

3. Eggcessive

Eggcessive Chicken Obsessed Premium Member

Apr 3, 2011
    southern Ohio
    He looks mixed breed, but he might have some wheaten ameraucana blood because of his pea comb and coloring. If so, he would be classified as an easter egger (EE), and might carry the blue egg gene. Does he have gray or greenish legs?

4. BlueCamas

BlueCamas Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 25, 2011
    Milwaukie, Oregon
    He looks like a Golden laced Wyandotte mix to me. That would explain the Rose-ish comb and the coloring. His build looks Cornish to me though. He's a mystery whatever he is.

5. donrae

donrae Hopelessly Addicted Premium Member

Jun 18, 2010
    Southern Oregon
    The color and comb indicate he's a mixed breed.