Adults as starters?

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by bbgunz88, Jul 27, 2014.

1. bbgunz88

bbgunz88 In the Brooder

Mar 19, 2014
    Murfreesboro TN
    I was thinking because it's so late in the season I'd get adults. Is this a bad idea? If it makes any difference, I'm brand new to keeping chickens. I was thinking of getting a larger breed such as Black Jersey Giant.

2. donrae

donrae Hopelessly Addicted

Jun 18, 2010
    Southern Oregon
    It's completely possible to get chicks this time of year, but you may do better with started birds. a chick born now , late July or early August, won't be hitting point of lay until January. Some high production bred birds will go ahead and start laying then, even with the very short days, but some birds won't start laying until spring. It's a management decision for you. Myself, I'd go with older birds, cause I've done the chick thing and would want to get right to the eggs [​IMG]. But that's me.

3. bbgunz88

bbgunz88 In the Brooder

Mar 19, 2014
    Murfreesboro TN
    Are there any breeds I should avoid as beginner when they are starters?

4. islandgirl82

islandgirl82 Songster

Jul 4, 2014
    Maine
    This time of year, I would also start with older birds. You can find girls that are 2+ years old from people refreshing their flocks. I have a 4 year old Wyandotte I got when she was about 2 years old and currently I get 4-5 eggs from her each week. I also have Easter Egger hen who is 3 years old and I get the same number of eggs from her each week. I'm not sure what the average number of eggs hens their ages/breeds are laying each week but personally, I think they're still doing great.

The breeds I keep are cold hearty which is something I can't do without here in Maine so that is something you'll want to consider depending on where you live.

Last edited: Jul 27, 2014
  5. donrae

donrae Hopelessly Addicted

Jun 18, 2010
    Southern Oregon