Advice about egg laying / broodiness /egg bound

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by KylieB, Dec 6, 2012.

1. KylieB

KylieB New Egg

Dec 6, 2012
    We are brand new to backyard chickens. I have a gold laced wyandotte that has only been laying for about 3 weeks, and hasn't laid an egg for 2 days. She now sits on her "nest" in a corner of the garden from mid-morning onwards and seems reluctant to move - didn't want to return to coop last night - had to pick her up & put her in. Need advice as to whether I have a problem here (eggbound) or whether I should give it more time. This morning she seemed fine, normal eating & drinking, just no eggs and just a preference to sit in her "nest" even though no eggs in it. Any advice?

2. attila the mum

attila the mum Out Of The Brooder

i am far from an expert but one of my girls started this recently since i got her some fertalized eggs as we dont have a rooster she is happy as...we are expecting them to hatch soon...maybe she is broody as thats exactly how pecka got and she would carry on big time if you moved her...hope it works out for you

3. sumi

sumi Égalité Staff Member

Jun 28, 2011
    Rep of Ireland
    [​IMG]

Is she sleeping in the nest as well? Then she may be broody. Has her behaviour changed apart from the constant sitting? Is she puffing her feathers up when she walks around, clucking, slightly more aggressive?

1 person likes this.
  4. KylieB

KylieB New Egg

Dec 6, 2012