Advice for broody mama

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by blatham00, Jan 19, 2017.

1. blatham00

blatham00 Out Of The Brooder

Jan 18, 2017
    NC
    I posted in my intro yesterday that I have a broody hen. She is approximately 15 days or so in. After reading lots of posts I've learned a lot on what to do and what to expect. I do however have a few more questions.. I went out after dark last night and tried to mark the eggs I could so I would know if new eggs were laid. Now I'm learing that before I marked them, others eggs were likely laid at later times and they won't all hatch at once. I plan to move mom and babies to a brooder after they hatch. I don't want to risk losing the later laid eggs if she is incubating them. Can I move mama, babies and the rest of the eggs to the brooder and hope she will hatch the rest? This is my first time and I'm honestly freaking out. I don't want to mess up.. any advice will be greatly appreciated.

2. SunHwaKwon

SunHwaKwon Overrun With Chickens

Jul 19, 2015
    Eastern Shore, MD
    Generally she will wait about three days before abandoning the eggs, in case there are any late hatchers. After that she needs to focus on the chicks and won't wait around. You can candle them to see which are at the same level of development, or just wait it out and what happens happens.

3. junebuggena

junebuggena Chicken Obsessed

Apr 17, 2015
    Long Beach, WA
    Most hens stop sitting somewhere between 24 and 72 hours after the first chick hatches. Any eggs that remain unhatched will be abandoned. Once she leaves the nest to tend to chicks, she won't come back to continue incubating. And you don't need to remove a hen with chicks from a flock. Removing them just makes reintegration more difficult later on.

Last edited: Jan 19, 2017
  4. blatham00

Jan 18, 2017
    NC