Advice for chiken not laying and not roosting

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Dubjoe, Dec 13, 2016.

1. Dubjoe

Dubjoe Just Hatched

Dec 13, 2016
    Hi Folks

I'm a newbie here. Was hoping I could get some advice?

I have just installed a new coop and run. An A frame coop 4ft x 5ft with long - run 20m x 4m.
    Purchased 3 Young Rhode Island reds, owner was unsure how old they were but they look young.The plan is to have 6 in total.
    I'm having a problem that they wont roost but bunch up in the nest box. The roost is 6inches off the ground with two flat 2inch timbers. So I blocked the nest box off, they now sit corner on top of each other beside the nest box I blocked. They leave briefly for water and return to the coop. Is this normal and part of settling in?
    Many thanks

2. dragonthehunter

dragonthehunter Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 8, 2016
    New brunswick Canada
    To get them to roost you have to place them on the roosts

3. Dubjoe

Dubjoe Just Hatched

Dec 13, 2016
    Ah ok, I was thinking they would figure it out. Ill try this out today. Should open the nest box after a couple nights on the roost?
    Thanks

4. Dubjoe

Dubjoe Just Hatched

Dec 13, 2016
    Ah ok, I was thinking they would figure it out. Ill try this out today. Should I open the nest box after a couple nights on the roost?
    Thanks

5. dragonthehunter

dragonthehunter Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 8, 2016
    New brunswick Canada
    you have to place them on the roosts every night for like 3-4 nights then they will get it and thats up to you

6. Dubjoe

Dubjoe Just Hatched

Dec 13, 2016
    Thanks, ill try shift them onto the perch.

7. N F C

N F C dem crazy bones Premium Member

Dec 12, 2013
    Wyoming
    [​IMG]