Advice for raising pigs?

Discussion in 'Other Pets & Livestock' started by texaschickenfis, Dec 3, 2014.

1. texaschickenfis

texaschickenfis New Egg

Aug 30, 2012
    Hi all I have been raising chickens for over 2 years now and keep about 11 and 3 roosters. I have the barrnyard mix of buffs, reds, Plymouth rocks, and Americanas. They are all doing really well after a period of trial and error a lot of Hotwire. Just want to give a shoutout to everyone on this forum for being so awesome!

I am wondering about pigs! We are interested in raising our own pork and have a field fenced with electric wire and a pen that is 125ft x 100. I can buy the feeders and waterers but was wondering about breed, nutrition, and of course smell. The area is shaded primarily large oak forest that does tend to get a little wet after a hard rain but is sandy and drains quickly. I think the biggest concern is this area adequate and how bad will the stink be? Also is there a best time to raise pork. We have an orchard of about 100 trees with lots of rotten fruit that falls and I figure June July due to the fruit drop would be a good finishing month or October November due to the epic amount of acorns we get. Any thoughts. I am really just thinking about anything I forgot....aka an ounce of prevention etc.

2. cityfarmer12

cityfarmer12 Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 18, 2014
    Missouri