ADVICE NEEDED! Anybody suffer from sciatica?

Discussion in 'Random Ramblings' started by taraann81, Aug 27, 2010.

1. taraann81

taraann81 Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 9, 2009
    Ontario
    I have had three children...all natural..no meds. This pain is comnparable if not worse to labor!

It started 6 weeks ago, occasional pain in my right glut, radiating down my leg all the way to the foot.

Since sunday night it has gotten so severe that I can barely walk. I have been visiting the chirpractor daily, I am now off of work. When I stand, sit, move it almost drops me to my knees and makes me nauseous.

I am a nurse but still am at a loss as of how to make this pain bareable!

I am icing it constantly, 20mins on, 20 off. I am no longer taking any pain medication as it doesn't even dull the pain.

Can anybody help me tolerate this? Any advice is appreciated..I am desperate!

2. Deanner03

Deanner03 The Cake Queen

Muscle relaxants (flexaril, or skelaxin, the long acting form), ibuprofen and rest.

I use a TENS unit, and it helps a LOT. My chiro carried them, and prescribed one for me. If you know anybody with one, I suggest it.

Good luck. I know how horrible it is.

Once you end this round, you may want to see if you can isolate the cause. For me...I have herniated discs in L3/L4 and L4/L5. They are (most likely) related to the fact that one of my legs is slightly longer than the other (Ok....a bit more than "slightly"). Orthotics in my shoes (or at the least...motion control sneakers to stop my pronating) have helped significantly.

3. Elite Silkies

Elite Silkies Overrun With Chickens

Jun 17, 2009
    Oklahoma
    My Coop
    Cyclobenzaprine and Tramadol right now. Sometimes, Loratab. Soak in a really hot tub with Dead Sea Salt.

4. Yay Chicks!

Yay Chicks! Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 15, 2010
    Forest Grove, OR