advice needed for my 8wk old chicks , im new to raising chicks

Debbielucia

In the Brooder
9 Years
Aug 13, 2010
Manchester
Hi I have 3 chicks 2 of them are white silkies the other has turned out not to be a silkie ....she is red with leopard print markings on her wings and a black stripe down her head , very long soft feathers not fluffy like the silkies , anyway not sure of type but would appreciate comments , 1 of my silkies is a rooster im sure as he is getting a mane and trying to use his voice ...haha
Im feeding them chick grub but dont know what age they can have grit believe they need this for digestion , please advise me . I talk to my birds lots touch them pick them up give them lots of cuddles but thet still soo shy and scared , i read that they are very sociable but not mine , I only had them 3 wks , am i being too impatient ? Im reading up on everything as i want my chicks to be happy does anyone know any online info i can get to advise me more i just want to do it all right ...

thank you in advance for any info recieved

Debbie uk

If the chicks are eating nothing but chick starter they don't need the grit. If you feed anything at all supplemental, they should have grit available at all times. By 3 weeks mine were getting treats of homemade yogurt so and small bits of other treats occasionally, so I kept grit available. I also used to dig up a square of sod from the back of my property about once a week and put it in their brooder to scratch through and peck at and I'm sure this also added some grit. As far as sociability, they go through stages and at 3 weeks you may be looking like the "big scary hand" to them. Approach slowly and maybe try having a bit of yogurt on your finger to teach them that you are in fact the "big yummy hand". BYC is the place to find more info, just search the forum and/or post questions as they come up. People are very willing to help. Good luck!