Advice on coop and run capacity

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by cairopd1069, Dec 23, 2010.

1. cairopd1069

cairopd1069 Out Of The Brooder

Dec 4, 2010
    Cairo, Ga
    I am new to chickens and I am trying to do everything right. I want to know how many chickens I can have with the facilities I have built. I ordered 25 chicks from Stromberg's, I only lost one so far. They are 3 weeks old, 10 BOs, 9 RIRs and 5 SW. My coop is 8x8 and is 7' tall in the front and 5' tall in the rear. My run is 8' wide x 20' long and 6' tall. I am sure I will have to get rid of some of them, but I want to wait and see if I have any roosters in the bunch.

On another note, I am wondering about ventilation. Right now, I have a storm door with a sliding window and screen. Other than that, the only ventilation is a small area where my light cord runs through that is about 6"x8". I open the glass during our warm days, but close it at night. Our night time temps are getting down in the mid 20s right now, so I hate to leave the screen open during the night. I plan on installing some windows with hardware cloth over them when it warms up. I have two brooder lamps, but I am only using one during the day, 40 degrees to 70 degrees, and two when the temps get down in the 20's.

2. patandchickens

patandchickens Flock Mistress

Apr 20, 2007
    Ontario, Canada
    I want to know how many chickens I can have with the facilities I have built.

With all due respect, and meaning this in the nicest way, can I point out that what this question really boils down to is "how crowded can I probably have them and still get away with it?"

Whereas what's best for the CHICKENS is "how few chickens can I be satisfied with, so that they will have the best living conditions possible".