1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Advice on Ordering Chicks from a Hatchery

Discussion in 'Chicken Breeders & Hatcheries' started by MudPie, Jan 13, 2010.

1. MudPie

MudPie Out Of The Brooder

Jun 5, 2009
    Htuos Lartnec Anatnom
    This is my first time ordering chicks. In the past I've always picked some up a local feed stores. I have a couple of questions about ordering some birds from a hatchery.

I’d first like to state that I’m not interested in turning this thread into another this hatchery is better than that because of order problems, DOA chicks, sick chicks, etc. I’ve already read a lot on that sort of thing. No need to rehash old arguments. [​IMG]

First - What are the thoughts on having the hatchery vaccinate the chicks? Pros/Cons?

Second – I’m planning on ordering some Barred Rocks from either Cackle's or Mt Healthy. Has anyone had experiences w/ this breed, from these two hatcheries? I’d like to have some birds that represent the breed well. I’m not showing birds. I just enjoy having them around, and producing eggs for the family.

Any insight is most welcome.

Thanks, Joe

2. australorp_breeder

australorp_breeder Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 29, 2009
    California
    Hi,