Advice on Roosters

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by Chicken gurl, May 27, 2016.

1. Chicken gurl

Chicken gurl Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 22, 2016
    Arizona
    So I'm new to the whole rooster thing... I got a Black Copper Maran (very hard to find where I live) and raised it. My friend had its brother and sister form the same batch, she had to get ride of mine, which I named Falcon, because the other two chicks were picking on it because it was smaller. I took it under my care and he grew up big and strong. I have never had any roosters before, I get lucky with the feed store mash-up. The older he got the more I got the feeling that he wasn't a hen. At a fair I saw my friend showing her 2 Marans, and her rooster was crowing every second he got, but mine had never uttered a peep at home! I also noticed how much smaller her roo was compared to mine. Weeks went by and no crowing, roosters that were younger were crowing already! One day he finally attempted a crow and the rest of the week he practiced all... night... long... He is very beautiful and has never shown ANY aggression to anyone ( my oldest hen is top dog and "reminds" him when he forgets). The problem is I can't have roosters where I live, so we had to give him to my aunt. He loved to be held and would fall asleep in my lap most of the time.

Here is a picture of him:

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Here is my questions:

Can a rooster be a late bloomer when it comes to crowing?

Smaller size when chicks = bigger adult size?????

Do no-crow collars work?

Are all roosters aggressive?

Thanks for listening to my rambling!!!![​IMG]

2. Folly's place

Folly's place Overrun With Chickens

Sep 13, 2011
    southern Michigan