Advice: Should I get baby chicks?

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by augustmomx2, Aug 31, 2008.

1. augustmomx2

augustmomx2 Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 31, 2008
    Central Indiana
    Hello Everyone,

I am a newbie here and have been lurking for the past few days. I live in Indiana, in a suburban area w/about an acre of land. I am seriously considering getting some baby chicks and need some expert advice that I know you all can provide [​IMG] I live in central Indiana and I'm not sure if right now is a good time to get baby chicks and try to raise them due to the cold weather that will be here before you know it. Also, I can only get around 6 chicks due to land constraints and I cannot have a rooster (neighbors too close). I have a fear that I will probably end up w/one or two roosters and I have no idea what to do with them after I decide to get rid of them. If you could give me some tips for a COMPLETE beginner, I will be appreciative for anything! TIA!

Mandy

Edited to add: Thanks so much for the info already [​IMG] I am thinking about having my husband build a coop, inside of the double fenced in area that we already have set-up for our garden. Next spring, he is building a polebarn and will have an area for my girls. Another reason, why I should probably wait...I just don't know if I can wait![​IMG]

Last edited: Aug 31, 2008
  2. Heather J

Heather J Chillin' With My Peeps

May 29, 2008