advice wanted on a broody hen hatching some baby chicks please help

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by joegwendolyn, May 2, 2009.

1. joegwendolyn

joegwendolyn Out Of The Brooder

Mar 26, 2009
    Hello some one told me that if I put some fertile eggs under my broody hen it will cure her,
    I have ordered some eggs to come on wednesday morning,
    I was just wondering when they hatch should I take them away from her or leave them to be brought up by the hen, please help as I have never done this before, any advice welcomed and thanks

2. Mourningdove

Mourningdove Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 17, 2008
    Cleveland, Tn.
    Hi there, I am on my 1st experience with a broody hen, she hatched off her babies very well and I will not take her babies from her. She is a wonderful & protective mother as well! What I did for her was build a chicken tractor for her to raise her babies in, she has 7 with her now. There is no replacement for mother nature and instinct!

3. FrontPorchIndiana

FrontPorchIndiana Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 8, 2008
    Indiana
    Let her keep them. She knows best how to take care of them. And it's the cutest thing you will ever see.

4. aidenbaby

aidenbaby Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 10, 2009
    Lochbuie
    I've heard that hen raised chicks have more chicken smarts than brooder raised. If I had a hen, the only reason I'd take them away is if it was for their best interest, as in she won't stop pecking them, she isn't showing them food or water, they just aren't faring as well as the others.

5. joegwendolyn

Mar 26, 2009
    I was just a bit worried as there are 3 hens in together and they are all very vicious and will heck you as soon as you go near and draw blood so I was worried even if the mother hen didnt hurt them that the other 2 would?

6. aidenbaby

aidenbaby Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 10, 2009
    Lochbuie