advice wanted on a broody hen hatching some baby chicks please help

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by joegwendolyn, May 2, 2009.

1. joegwendolyn

joegwendolyn Out Of The Brooder

Mar 26, 2009
    Hello some one told me that if I put some fertile eggs under my broody hen it will cure her,
    I have ordered some eggs to come on wednesday morning,
    I was just wondering when they hatch should I take them away from her or leave them to be brought up by the hen, please help as I have never done this before, any advice welcomed and thanks

2. Judy

Judy Moderator Staff Member

Feb 5, 2009
    South Georgia
    Your choice. Some hens make great moms, and some kill the chicks. If you leave them, try to be around so you can intervene if needed. I am working toward a group of broodies who will hatch and raise babies for me; have one who did a good job last year.

3. Dirt Road

Dirt Road Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 9, 2008
    Southern Idaho
    While some hens are better mothers than others, the vast majority of broody hens who will set long enough to hatch eggs, will do a perfectly good job of raising the chicks. Most of them will do even better without a lot of help from their owner than with too much help. A bit of common sense in supplying the needs of small chicks is all that is usually required.

Jim

4. CityClucks

CityClucks The Center of a 50 Mile Radius

Jan 31, 2009
    Tulsa, OK
    My evil plan to get more chicks is to buy hatching eggs if/when one of my hens goes broody (no rooster here). So I'd say try it!

edited to add: What breed of hen is she?

Last edited: May 2, 2009
  5. joegwendolyn

Mar 26, 2009
    Quote:she is a RIR cross Light sussex,
    and I have bought light sussex eggs to try to hatch, I was just worried because they are vicious they will draw blood if you put your fingers near them and I have 3 of them, I thought if the hen doesnt hurt them the other 2 might?

6. Chicks_N_Horses

Chicks_N_Horses Chillin' With My Peeps