Advice

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by Shreenith, Jan 31, 2012.

1. Shreenith

Shreenith Out Of The Brooder

Jan 29, 2012
    Southern California
    Hello, all! I am just starting out--both with raising chickens and with this forum. I wanted to ask you seasoned veterans for your advice. So. . .

1. What is one thing you wish you'd known before you started raising chickens? What is the most valuable thing you've learned?
    2. Would stage should I get my chickens at? Egg/chick/pullet/etc.?
    3. Any other advice for a person just starting out. I live in southern California, if that helps. :)

Thanks bunches!

2. Judy

Judy Moderator Staff Member

Feb 5, 2009
    South Georgia
    You'll get lots of different answers (if everyone isn't in bed already, anyway.)

Most important -- definitely -- to my mind is, get chicks and brood them in the coop that you've already gotten ready, with electric and water close by; never in the house. Handle them often so they get used to you -- don't chase them, bribe them. A bit of chick feed on an upturned palm is fine. Hatching eggs are fine as well, if you want to invest in an incubator, but try to pick the eggs up from a good breeder and avoid shipped eggs if possible. Actually this is a great way to get quality birds. If you'd just as soon have hatchery birds, which is fine too, you will probably have more choice of breeds if you have them shipped. Or, you can wait for "chick days" at feed stores and pick them up (call around to see who has chicks when.)

Scan through the learning center here.

Watch your chicks -- their behavior will tell you a lot. Don't be afraid -- enjoy -- they are a lot easier to raise and keep than you'd expect.

3. Kara515

Kara515 Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 16, 2011
    Southeast Missouri