1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Advise needed

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by MrsKluck, Oct 1, 2015.

1. MrsKluck

MrsKluck Out Of The Brooder

Oct 1, 2015
    Godley, IL
    I am a newbie at the chicken biz. I just purchased a little giant forced air incubator, have access to fertilized eggs, and am ready and prepped to start incubating.
    I do not have an automatic turner. I am semi-retired, only working 10 days a month, but the days I am at work, would the embryos/chicks be harmed if i turned them just before leaving for my eight hours shift, and then again as soon as I got home? I know the advise is at least 3-4 times a day, and that some people turn theirs every 2 hours. This will not be a problem for me on off days, but what do you think about the days where I will be gone 9 hours during the day? Do you think they will survive? Appreciate any advise you can give. (BTW...the real Mrs. Kluck was my kindergarten teacher 58 years ago! I never forgot her. The classroom was filled with chicken pictures....statues..and books)
    Christa

2. chickengeorgeto

chickengeorgeto Overrun With Chickens

Dec 25, 2012
    It all depends on how viable the eggs are. If they are fresh eggs with strong embryos then there is little likely hood that the embryos will stick to the inside of the membranes in that short of a time. It might help to turn out the overhead light before you leave for work.

[​IMG]

Last edited: Oct 1, 2015
  3. dekel18042

dekel18042 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 18, 2013
    Pennsylvania
    You should be fine. My incubator turns automatically, but I have hatched with a broody and know other people who have too and I swear some of them barely leave their eggs once a day, so you shouldn't have a problem. Good luck.

4. MrsKluck