Afraid to let the girls out to free range for the first time!!

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by rhody josephine, Jun 30, 2011.

1. rhody josephine

rhody josephine Out Of The Brooder

Mar 13, 2011
    Hi All,
    I'm new to chickens and have found soooo much information just by reading the forum and realizing others have similar questions. My 12 girls are 10 weeks old now, have been in the coop and outside covered run for 2 weeks now. I want to free range them...that was my original goal anyway...but I'm finding I'm scared to let them out of the run...even surpervised!!! Over protective Mama??? Maaaaybe.....Any advice on how to make the big leap??

2. duckinnut

duckinnut Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 18, 2010
    Marshfield, Ma.
    Maybe just start with 1 or 2 rather than all 12. Let out different ones at other times. Then let more out as you become more comfortable with it. That is what I did.Now they are all out including my 10 week olds.

3. The reluctant chicken

The reluctant chicken Out Of The Brooder

Jun 6, 2011
    Litchfield County
    I'm with you on that issue also. I know they know where they live, but...what if they decide to roost in a tree as opposed to go back to the coop? We are surrounded by woods with lots of predators. I wanted to do it tonight, but DH said...if they go into the trees...yada, yadda, yadda.UGH!

4. Omah09

Omah09 Out Of The Brooder

Find a treat they like. Mine all come running when I they think I have a treat. I can easily get them back in their pen with a bowl of yogurt. They're only about 10 weeks old too but I only have 4 and a very small yard.

5. wayneh

wayneh Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 25, 2011
    N. E. Alabama