After day 18 how do you place your eggs?

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by JWBFARM, Mar 31, 2015.

1. JWBFARM

JWBFARM New Egg

Jan 15, 2015
    I am having issues after lockdown. I will get a chick to pip out and push some of the other eggs pip holes upside down causing the unhatched chick to drown. Any suggestions or what do you do to your eggs?

2. BobMcDuff

BobMcDuff Out Of The Brooder

Feb 13, 2015
    South Jersey, USA
    Some people hatch eggs standing upright in cut down egg cartons. I was contemplating either that, or maybe taking a papertowl roll and cutting short "rings" out of it for each egg to have one to sit on to keep it stable. I am new to this though, haven't tried either. Maybe someone can offer help on the carton method, or even lend a thought to the ring idea.

3. AmyLynn2374

AmyLynn2374 Humidity Queen

Oct 11, 2014
    Gouverneur, NY

Cut down egg cartons is the way most people who are worried about that go. The cut down paper towel roll has merit if they are wide enough to keep the chicks from knocking them over and if all your eggs are big enough to sit in the ring. It'd be interesting to see how the cardboard stood up in humid conditions though. I'd be a bit worried the moisture would compromise the stability.

4. fried green eggs

fried green eggs Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 25, 2011
    S.E. Michigan
    I have used cut down paper cartons and can normally get a few hatches out of a carton.

5. JWBFARM

JWBFARM New Egg

Jan 15, 2015
    Thank you the last hatch I lost to many chicks because of this. I will try this method and see what happens.

6. PD-Riverman

PD-Riverman Overrun With Chickens

Jan 14, 2012
    Conway SC