1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Age of hen

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by chicky1016, Mar 29, 2016.

1. chicky1016

chicky1016 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 20, 2015
    South jersey USA
    I was wondering how old does a hen have to be before she decides to sit on eggs?

2. XxMingirlxX

XxMingirlxX Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 12, 2013
    Lancashire, England
    A hen can go broody at any age once she has begun laying eggs. The hen's breed is much more important in terms of broodiness.

3. chicky1016

Jun 20, 2015
    South jersey USA

How so? I'm new to this. Thanks!

4. rebrascora

rebrascora Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 14, 2014
    Consett Co.Durham. UK
    Hi

Since most eggs are incubated by machines these days and most people want hens to produce as many eggs as possible, many breeds have been selectively bred to reduce the instinct to rear chicks. That way they lay more eggs without a break...ie maximum egg production. That's not to say that any individual hen will or won't go broody (ie incubating a clutch of eggs) but the chances of a silkie or cochin going broody is much higher than a production breed like a Rhode Island Red or Leghorn, because silkies and cochins haven't been selectively bred for egg production to the detriment of brooding instinct.