age to show a polish and I'm a newbie so a few ?'s

VioletandBodie

Songster
9 Years
Aug 11, 2010
port
is the an age where the become "prime" for showing is is it just one they reach full feather? or maybe a certain size? is it different for different polishes? how do you even show a chicken....walk it around on a halter? i have only ever shown grade Holstein calf's and yearling so i don't know anything! though i did get to watch a small thing where there put some birds in cages in front of judges and when they were done the handlers/owner grabbed the bird. Is that all there is to showing (besides grooming and prepping) and when my birds go to show what can i do to reduce stress i will be at fair all of the time because of cow showing. (random ?) can you buy a halter/harness for a chicken? sorry if i sound insane! i haven't even got my chicks yet but I'm already prepping for fair in summer 2011. I'm so nervous that a will permanently damage them in some way or another
and if you would be so kind to show your prize wining girls so i know what to look for in a good chicken.

Last edited:
I've never shown anything. But I'd imagine showing birds is more like showing cats than dogs. That is to say. They are judged in a cage and maybe the judge pulls each bird out to feel it's frame. but you wouldn't lead it around a ring like you do at a dog show.

If you're looking specifically at polish - check out the polish breeders club.

DD just showed for the first time this year at two shows, so we're hardly pro's or anything
tongue.png
but here's what I learned.

One show was the first of May, an Open Show, the second was the 4H Fair in early July.