Aggressive baby chicks?

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by BetsyB0101, Nov 3, 2011.

1. BetsyB0101

BetsyB0101 Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 30, 2011
    Southwest Missouri
    I am really new to this so please excuse me if this is a stupid question. I picked up some baby chicks at the feed store, just to have for laying hens. There were barred rock, rhode island reds, and golden sex linked. I bought the pullets. They are all now three weeks old and doing good but I am noticing that the golden sex linked chicks don't act like the rest. When I put my hand in the brooder they actually will run at my hand and peck at me. The other breeds just stand back and watch. Is this a sign that they will be aggressive chickens? If babies act like this what will they do when grown? I keep food and water in front of them so it isn't just excitement because am feeding them or something like that. If they are going to be mean, I won't want to spend a lot of time raising them, will sell them off before I have so much invested. Thanks for any advice!

2. CrestedGirl

CrestedGirl Polish Obsessed

Mar 7, 2011
    Fort Worth, Tx
    Probably a young roo. [​IMG]

3. Stephanie739

Stephanie739 Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 7, 2011
    Maybe they are just trying to get your attention [​IMG] Do you pick them up?

4. Fred's Hens

Fred's Hens Chicken Obsessed Premium Member

If the sex links are reddish, they aren't roos. Roos are white.

The Red or Golden sex links are super friendly, on the whole. Confident too!! Frankly, they just seem to interact with people well. Nature of their breeding.
    Now, having said that, some caution needs to be exercised in over stating the case, because there are so many hybrids, made from so many strains, that generalizing is risky.

Last edited: Nov 3, 2011
  5. BetsyB0101

BetsyB0101 Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 30, 2011
    Southwest Missouri