Aggressive geese

Discussion in 'Geese' started by KMSIMS, Nov 17, 2013.

1. KMSIMS

KMSIMS New Egg

Nov 17, 2013
    Hi, I am new to this game. I have 2chickens and 2 male 8 month old geese. Today the geese attacked one of my chickens and had her on the ground and were pecking her . Fortunately she seems fine. Does anyone know if I should separate them now or hope my chickens learn to keep out of the way?
    Also, how warm do their coops need to be in winter? I am in Northern France.
    My Maran has been broody for a month in spite of the fact that I keep her out of the nest box for most of the day!
    Any advice gratefully received.

2. Miss Lydia

Miss Lydia Running over with Blessings Premium Member

Oct 3, 2009
    Western N.C.
    Do they all free range? my chickens have learned to stay away from the geese, but they have plenty of room to do it in, makes a difference, if they are in a pen then I would separate the geese from the chickens. Geese have down under their feathers and don't require extra warmth, just give them a place where they can get out of the elements and wind they should be fine. As far as a broody chicken I usually just let them get over it on their own, seems broodiness has to run it's course. I just take all eggs away. [​IMG]

3. servpolice

servpolice Chillin' With My Peeps Premium Member

Oct 10, 2013
    Ireland
    My geese dont bite my chickens but the rooster they do coz well uea the rooster fights em off and the reason they attacked your chickens is becoz young ganders tend to show off infront of eachother and it will stop eventually

4. TheBirdMan5

TheBirdMan5 Out Of The Brooder

Nov 16, 2013