Aggressive Male Silkie!!! Help Help Help!!!

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by mandelaykay, Jul 28, 2011.

1. mandelaykay

mandelaykay Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 23, 2011
    Southern maine
    I am new to silkies. I have a flock of 5 month old silkies. A splash pair and a white pair. The white male has been crowing for well over a month. He was so sweet and was always the first one to come running when I called. The Splash male just started crowing last week and he is the less dominant of the two. This past week the white male has become pretty aggressive. When I go to feed him he will chase me and bite my ankles. When I take them out in the morning he will bite me and I was trimming the splash female's nails today and he charged me and gave me a good hard bite. I have been working with him since he started this behavior, I pick him up more, I will not turn my back on him and when he tries to charge I crowd him until he gives first. Out of all of my birds, whom of which I would like to show he is the least full and I have considered swapping him or selling him for a nicer bird both in appearance and attitude. Is this normal behaviour? What would you do? I choose this breed because of their temperment. I can not have him attacking my 18 month old. My birds get run of the yard during the day then I put them in their coop at night.

2. equinelyn

equinelyn Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 4, 2011
    Southern York County
    I've heard a lot of people having mean white silkie roos!!! I hope my white youngster isn't a roo [​IMG]

3. TrystInn

TrystInn Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 16, 2009
    Southern Arizona
    Whereabouts are you? I have two sweet Sizzle cockerels. [​IMG]

4. mandelaykay

Mar 23, 2011
    Southern maine