AHHH Power outage!!!

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by SundownWaterfowl, May 8, 2009.

1. SundownWaterfowl

SundownWaterfowl Overrun With Chickens

[​IMG] At 8pm the power went out. We didnt even get any rain, or wind. It was out for about an hour till I got the generator on. I had eggs in my Brinsea Octagon 40. About 25 eggs in it. Some very special buff silkie eggs due to hatch next week, some mandarin eggs, and some call eggs due next week.

ETA: Temp dropped to about 86.

They should be fine right? Im so worried now.

Last edited: May 8, 2009
  2. giasmom

giasmom Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 31, 2009
    Woodville, Al
    For no longer than that, I would think they would be fine. However, I am no expert.

3. Majestic Lane Poultry

Majestic Lane Poultry Heart Strings Animal Rehoming

Feb 9, 2009
    They should be fine. It may take another day to hatch so don't panic on day 21.

Last edited by a moderator: May 8, 2009
  4. Webfoot

Webfoot Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 7, 2009
    Central TX
    Our electrical service is terrible [​IMG] and on two separate occasions we've lost power for an entire day while I had eggs in the bator. Both batches were FINE. Don't sweat it [​IMG]

Webfoot

5. rbar

rbar Out Of The Brooder

Jan 17, 2009
    Dayton, Tennessee
    Everyone needs a backup plan.
    Some choices:

1. Generator (expensive? Check prices, now just a fraction of Y2K prices!).

2. Car battery and DC to AC converter. (Walmart...an earlier post had specifics.)

The second is my choice. I keep a battery and converter in my closet, occasionally exchanging my battery with my car battery to keep it topped off during hatching season.
    I have never had to use it long enough to run it out of juice, so I am not sure how long it would work continuously...I would unplug my turner to save juice, though, turning it on occasionally.
    The Converter is supposed to start sounding an alarm when the juice gets low...have not heard it yet.

6. Crickett