1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Alfalfa pellets for chickens?

Discussion in 'Feeding & Watering Your Flock' started by best-nestin', Feb 27, 2009.

1. best-nestin'

best-nestin' Out Of The Brooder

Feb 23, 2009
    I am a newbie to the whole chicken thing, and so this maybe a stupid question. I was able to purchase some alfalfa pellets for an EXTREMELY cheap price. I was wondering if I can feed that to my chickens mixed in with the regular laying pellets that I currently feed them? I would like to be able to get the cheaper feed( which only has 12% protein) and supplement with the alfalfa pellets, because they are high in protein. Can I do that?

2. jbowyer01

jbowyer01 Just Me!

Aug 29, 2008
    Hogansville, Georgia
    I have a pet rabbit and I usually throw out a large cup of alfalfa pellets for the chickens to scratch at while locked in the run. I havent had any problems. I dont know about long term use combined with feed. But its an interesting question, hope someone can give you a better answer.

Last edited: Feb 27, 2009
  3. sandypaws

sandypaws Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 12, 2008
    desert of calif
    anytime i soak the horses pellet in water (they swell) i throw a handful at the chickens and they LOVE it... dont know about feeding them the pellet with the layer tho??? dont see why not???, as long as it is not too much

4. best-nestin'

best-nestin' Out Of The Brooder

Feb 23, 2009
    sandypaws wrote
    as long as it is not too much

How much is too much? Don't we want them to get as much protein as possible?​

5. SundownWaterfowl

SundownWaterfowl Overrun With Chickens

I give it to all of my chickens and waterfowl. I just use it as a supplement on top of the food.

6. sandypaws

sandypaws Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 12, 2008
    desert of calif