all Ameraucanas or a Welsummer or two?

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by blissed, Oct 28, 2013.

1. blissed

blissed Out Of The Brooder

Jul 22, 2013
    S.F. Bay Area
    We brought home two Ameraucana chicks and one Welsummer, and lost one the first few days. Our local farm gave us a replacement, but we have no idea which breed we lost or which breed we brought home to replace our lost chick. We have at least one Ameraucana, or maybe two or maybe three. We're just beginning our chicken adventure and I can't tell the difference. Any insight from this pic? They're 4.5 months old. Thank you!

[​IMG]

2. venetianblinds

venetianblinds Out Of The Brooder

Oct 17, 2013
    Usk, British Columbia
    I'm new to chickens also. You'll love them! My neighbour has Welsummers, Marans, EEs and Ameracaunas and those chickens look like her EEs and Ameracaunas; not her Welsummers, though the one on the right (my right looking at the screen) is somewhat similar to the Welsummers. I don't know how to tell the difference between EEs and Ameracaunas though. There are lots of knowledgeable people on this board though who likely do! Lovely looking birds!

Last edited: Oct 29, 2013
  3. ramirezframing

ramirezframing Overrun With Chickens

Mar 2, 2011
    Knee Deep
    all are ee hens

4. WalkingOnSunshine

WalkingOnSunshine Overrun With Chickens

Apr 8, 2008
    Ohio
    All of the hens in the photo are Easter Egger hens. You do not have any Ameraucanas, no matter what you were told when you bought them. Ameraucanas are purebred chickens that only come in specific colors; none of your birds match those colors. EEs are mutt chickens that carry the blue egg gene, and as mutts can be any color. Your ladies are all very common EE patterns. I would expect that they will lay green eggs.

5. WalkingOnSunshine

Apr 8, 2008
    Ohio