All my birds are dying?! Help!

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by mickyc, Dec 7, 2013.

1. mickyc

mickyc Out Of The Brooder

Dec 7, 2013
    Ireland
    I was given 4 birds to start off, 2 hens, 2 roos. I noticed one hen limping, she was dead the next morning. These birds were all hatched together in July. A few weeks later the other hen died.
    I then bought 4 mature hens, they were 2yrs old and had stopped laying for the winter. Last week one if them died? A few days later another one was dead? This morning a hen and one if the roos is dead and the remaining hen looks like it won't last the day! I have one healthy roo out if all my chickens?!
    I'm new to chicken keeping, but have a new hen house that can hold 12 birds, Ive a huge run for them, fox proofed. They are feed every day with corn and crumb and I keep the water feeder topped up. None of the dead birds look like they have been attacked?
    Is my last roo a serial killer?! I am bewildered and confused, can anyone offer an explanation or advice on this matter?

2. appps

appps Overrun With Chickens

Aug 29, 2012
    Australia
    So when you say dead, do you mean dropped dead with no symptoms or signs on their bodies?
    Or do you really suspect the rooster because the bodies looked attacked?

3. mickyc

Dec 7, 2013
    Ireland
    I can't find any evidence that they have been attacked to be fair to the last roo.

4. mickyc

Dec 7, 2013
    Ireland
    The last remaining hen is motionless; I gently moved her and she toppled over onto the hay inside the hen house, she struggled to get up again. She is just sitting there, eyes closed and I suspect she will be dead soon:(
    It's a desperate scenario, but I need to know what's going in before I get any more birds...

Last edited: Dec 7, 2013
  5. chickengeorgeto

chickengeorgeto Overrun With Chickens

Dec 25, 2012
    [​IMG]

Without more information it is difficult to say why your chickens are dying.