All my chicks died!!!

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by lilifluff, Jun 10, 2016.

1. lilifluff

lilifluff Just Hatched

Jun 9, 2016
    United Kingdom
    Hi all,

I'm fairly new to this and have been browsing these forums for a while now, I would love to get some opinions and views from you guys.

This has been my very first batch!! I read up on the topic before setting up the incubator, turned them every couple of hours(except over night).
    I got 12 chicken eggs in the post, 4 seemed well when I candled them on day 18 (I had candled them before then). The egg babies were due this Wednesday just gone. But only started to show signs of hatching this morning, but when I got back from work one had died after only pipping a little out of the shell. I candled the others and two had pipped internally but weren't making any sounds or movement. I decided to open them a little as I was concerned, they were dead too! The last looked like it had died sometime before.

I'm not sure what went wrong, can any one shed any light on the matter for me? I was really looking forward to the little guys :( and now i'm really sad and upset. What did I possibly do wrong?

Any help and advice would be great, so that I can hopefully avoid this happening again . Thanks

2. Poultry parent

Poultry parent Chillin' With My Peeps

did the temp fluctuate? was the humidity high enough? if the humidity isn't high enough the membrane will get stuck to the chicks nose and suffocate it.

3. AmyLynn2374

AmyLynn2374 Humidity Queen

Oct 11, 2014
    Gouverneur, NY