All of my chickens died over night.

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by lollyhoops821, Feb 6, 2017.

1. lollyhoops821

lollyhoops821 New Egg

Feb 6, 2017
    I'm very new to raising chickens. I have/had just two hens. I check on them every day and give them food and change their water. They both hadent laid eggs in aabout 2 days. But sometimes they skip a day or 2. I went into the coup today and both of my hens were dead. I live in upstate New york I'm not sure if the cold had something to do with it but they have survived through much colder nights,the water had not froze over which happens on the worst nights. My coop is well insulated and there's always a heat lamp on. Any thoughts on the cause.

2. LittlePip21

LittlePip21 Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 5, 2017
    Can you give me any specifics on the bodies? Like, how were they laying/were there abdomens squishy or hard/ anything abnormal at all?

3. lollyhoops821

lollyhoops821 New Egg

Feb 6, 2017
    They were both laying on their sides. One was kind of burrowed under some gay and had a sore or a cut on her wing. But I hadent checked their stomaches

4. Pyxis

Pyxis Hatchaholic Extrordinaire Premium Member

Mar 27, 2012
    Vermont
    My Coop
    :welcome! and sorry for your loss :hugs

You actually shouldn't keep a heat lamp on, they don't need it, and if it goes out suddenly and plunges them rapidly into cold temperatures it can kill them. any chance this happened?

Or did you change the bulb recently? Any bulb that is marketed as shatter proof has a coating that is toxic to them and when heated up when the the bulb is on will release fumes that will kill them.

Did you see any further injuries besides the wing wound? Could have been a weasel, they will break into a coop, kill all the birds for fun and maybe drink some of their blood, and then just leave the bodies.

5. Teila

Teila Bambrook Bantams Premium Member

Howdy lollyhoops821