all of my girls are laying on the floor. help.

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by schwaderer, Oct 4, 2012.

1. schwaderer

schwaderer New Egg

Oct 3, 2012
    MARION County Ohio
    I am new to raising chickens. Earlier this week I brought home my twelve black astralorp ( sorry about the spelling ) hens and one rooster. The hens have never been around nesting boxes or perches. They only lay eggs on the floor of the coop and will only stay on the perches if I place them there after falling asleep. Should I place the nesting boxes on the floor of the coop where they are laying eggs? And they do have some favorite spots. The boxes are about 18 to 20 inches of the ground. I have fake eggs in each of the boxes as well.

2. DianaMallory

DianaMallory Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 20, 2012
    Lancaster Ohio
    I have never had any luck with fake eggs! I put them in and the hens moved to another box and started laying there. What are you using on the floor of your coop? Do you have the same stuff in the nesting boxes and what were the hens use to before you got them?

3. DianaMallory

DianaMallory Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 20, 2012
    Lancaster Ohio
    I would try moving your fake eggs into one box. If they don't catch on in a week or two. I would then move one nesting box to the floor.

4. schwaderer

schwaderer New Egg

Oct 3, 2012
    MARION County Ohio
    I'm using wood chips on the floor, which is what they are use too. My father in law told me to use oats in the nesting boxes because they camouflage the eggs and keep the eggs cleaner, so thats is what is in them.

5. Justicedog

Justicedog Out Of The Brooder

May 2, 2012
    I would try to move one of the eggs they lay into the nesting box. My chickens so far have avoided the nesting box with the golf ball in it. I've got no chickens who aspire to be like Tiger Woods.

6. WalkingOnSunshine

WalkingOnSunshine Overrun With Chickens

Apr 8, 2008
    Ohio