All of my girls have stopped laying!

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by southtx, Aug 22, 2013.

1. southtx

southtx Out Of The Brooder

Aug 22, 2013
    I am very new to raising chickens so any feedback would be great. I have six RIR hens that I bought March 23. Three of the hens began laying eggs on July 19, and then we gradually had two more hens begin to lay. They have grit and oyster shell, and a high protein feed for layers. I live in south Texas and it has been over 100 with a heat index about 104-107. They have shade and open areas for a breeze. To top all of this off we just moved last weekend so the hens are adjusting to their new digs, but still no eggs. The temp has been lower for a few days due to some rain but still not one egg. I don't know what to do and would be great full for any help.

2. chicknmania

chicknmania Overrun With Chickens Premium Member

Jan 26, 2007
    central Ohio
    Wait a little longer, they might still be stressed because of the move and the heat. You can try giving them a littlle vitamin electrolyte mix for a week or so, something like VitaProB. or Aviacharge, in their water, to help them combat the stress.

3. Percheron chick

Percheron chick Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 12, 2013
    Boulder, Colorado
    The stress of the move and the temps are enough to get even the most reliable egg layer to stop. Give them another week. Give them frozen treats of fruits (save the melon rinds for them) and vegetables to help beat the heat and give them more water. Just keep a ziploc bag in the freezer and toss all their scraps in there and freeze them overnight.

4. southtx

Aug 22, 2013
    Thank you. Today was overcast and we got one egg! This was very exciting since they have not been laying. I have given them frozen fruit, they love it. The veggies frozen are a new idea to me. I love the ease of the Ziplock bag in the freezer. Thanks for responding.

5. southtx

Aug 22, 2013