almost the end of day 21 and nothing from the eggs?

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by Jade86, Dec 4, 2013.

1. Jade86

Jade86 Out Of The Brooder

Nov 10, 2013
    Hey this is my first time incubating eggs so im very anxious and concerned at this point. I've been reading that a lot of chicks pip at day 19 or 20 and hatch by day 21.

On day 19 I saw 3 eggs rocking but then i read that you aren't suppose to open the incubator after day 18 so I can't really tell now if they have been moving or not. I can see the eggs in there but its very hard to see. Should something have happened by now?
    Any advice would be appreciated, thanks :)

2. Poultrybonkers

Poultrybonkers Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 22, 2011
    Give them a few more days and as i see it your not suppose to open it up if an egg is pipped. As if ones pipped and you open it it can get shrink wrapped. Never had that happen to me.

3. Jade86

Nov 10, 2013
    Thank you, I will give it a few more days, fingers crossed!
    so it is ok to quickly open it to have a peek if none have pipped?

4. Kyzmette

Kyzmette Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 28, 2013
  5. chickydee64

chickydee64 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 8, 2013
    oregon
    HI,
    Don't worry yet......sometimes it is 22 , 23 days..............
    I like to remember, they do not read the book............[​IMG]
    I always leave my eggs until day 25.sometimes have stragglers.........

When you open the incubator............it can affect the humidity in just seconds...............
    Losing the humidity can cause the membrane to tighten around the chick so it cannot hatch...............
    Most of us advise.don't open the incubator.............even if chicks have hatched and there are more eggs.
    Chicks can go without food or water for three days...........

With a hen, this three day period gives her time to hatch all the chicks...............