1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Almost two week old chicks, found DARK & TARRY brownish red droppings

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by ChIcKeN_DiNnErS, Jun 5, 2011.

1. ChIcKeN_DiNnErS

ChIcKeN_DiNnErS Out Of The Brooder

Jun 1, 2011
    I'm completely new to chickens and I have 6 almost two week old chicks, just noticed yesterday night, that there are dark and tarry brownish red droppings in their crate! I'm not sure if it's coming from only one chick or more than one, and am worried about their health. Watching them, nothing seems out of the ordinary --behavior-wise, I talked with my grandfather about it and he thinks it might be something like Cocksideosis or some type of toxicity?? Can someone tell me what is wrong, and how can I fix this? Will my chicks die?? Every place is closed today and so will have to wait until monday, but would love to hear from someone who might know what I can do TODAY. Please help me!!

Tanya

2. ChurkLover

ChurkLover Out Of The Brooder

Jul 9, 2010
    St. Louis
    I am sorry this is posting much later than you had hoped. I hope you found help for your chicks and they are all doing well. What type of food are you feeding them? What type of watering pan/bowl do you have setup? What bedding are you using in their crate? You answers could help us figure out what is happening.

3. Tala

Tala Flock Mistress

Probably cecal poop, it's often runnier than their usual, kinda orange colored, and lots smellier. Adult chickens do it too, but since chicks are smaller they do it much more often. You're probably seeing them "half dry" is why they look darker brownish red. It's perfectly normal.

Cocci usually shows up as blood in the poop, and the chicks act sickly.

4. ChIcKeN_DiNnErS

Jun 1, 2011