Alot of Duck questions

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by grandmafarmer, May 18, 2011.

1. grandmafarmer

grandmafarmer New Egg

Apr 30, 2011
    I am new to ducks and have so many questions, this is the best forum, I have learned so much! I got what was suppose to be three Pekin ducks, however one is alot smaller, has a puff on top of its head and is getting brownish feathers, Does anyone know what kind of duck this is? What kind of housing do you have for ducks, I cannot leave them out at night. Right now I have them in my chicken coop (our chickens have not arrived yet). I am enjoying my ducks, they make me laugh everyday! Thanks for your help.

2. Bobberduck

Bobberduck Out Of The Brooder

May 18, 2011
    Can't be sure without a picture, but it sounds like a Crested Pekin. You can google that in images and you should be able to tell. Need a picture though, sounds like he is a cutey.

3. Enslaved-by-Ducks

Enslaved-by-Ducks Out Of The Brooder

Apr 22, 2011
    Grandmafarmer..........I have tons of answers for you...lol
    I'm so glad more and more people are raising ducks. I started out with 24 chickens and 8 ducks. I have 6 Pekins, 2 Khaki's, 3 Rouens.
    I absolutely love the pekins. They are so beautiful and graceful. The Rouens and Khakis are great as well but they are really Agressive. The key to having a manageable flock is to have very few Drakes because the drakes are extremely aggresive with the females and sometimes I wish I never had drakes. No matter what time of the year it is, Drakes are always wanting to mate and become so agressive, I have to keep them seperated from the females because of injurys. I will not get Drakes in the future because of this agressivness..........They will tear the back of the heads odf the hens to the point of no feathers and open wounds. It is really sad but It is what happens when you have more drakes then Hens. (female ducks)