Aluminum shed as Coop?

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by Quigley, Nov 5, 2009.

1. Quigley

Quigley Out Of The Brooder

Nov 5, 2009
    I am a newbie and trying to figure out if I can convert an aluminum shed into a coop. I live in Mass. so warmth is a factor. Every search I do leads me to automatic door openers and such. Any btdt or leads on information would be appreciated.

Thanks.

2. patandchickens

patandchickens Flock Mistress

Apr 20, 2007
    Ontario, Canada
    You can do it, IF YOU INSULATE the inside, including the ceiling (underside of roof).

But if you do not insulate, not only will you have heat problems in the summer, you will have frostbite/mold problems all winter because it will turn into a great big condensation factory.

Insulation (batts or rigid foamboard, either is fine) will have to be covered anywhere that chickens can reach it, otherwise they eat it which is not especially good for chickens and definitely not good for the insulation <g>

Also you will need to cut a buncha additional ventilation in it.

Good luck, have fun,

Pat

3. Hoosiermomma

Hoosiermomma Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 6, 2009
    S.E Ind
    Quote:Welcome to BYC....you'll find lots of great info and people here. I have some pics of a metal shed coop I could email you if interested....just pm me. [​IMG]

4. woodenart

woodenart Out Of The Brooder

Condensation would be an issue in Great Britain, unless adequate insulation and heating was installed.

5. ND Sue

ND Sue Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 20, 2009
    ND
    I'm sorry if I should have started a new topic, but this question on using an aluminum shed has me wondering if I should change my plans...