Am I crazy to get a few 8 week old pullets in winter?

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by buckabucka, Jan 1, 2011.

1. buckabucka

buckabucka Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 13, 2010
    Fairfield, Maine
    My Coop
    I was just lamenting the fact that my hatchery black copper marans lays just a regular brown egg, when I came upon an ad for 3 jeanette mcgee marans pullets, all 8 weeks old. I'm new at this, and have been enjoying my mixed flock of 16 hens and one rooster. If I were to buy these pullets, I would have to:

-quarantine for at least a month (a cage in the house is my only option at this point)
    -keep them warm until they are fully feathered (how long would that be? It gets down to zero and below, - wouldn't they need time to acclimate even with all their feathers?)
    -learn how to integrate them into my existing flock

Is this a crazy idea? I don't want to put my existing flock at risk. The for-sale birds came from hatching eggs, so I imagine they weren't vaccinated. I had my chicks vaccinated for Merek's, - does this matter? Maybe the pullets have already sold and I don't have to worry about any of this! Thanks for any feedback.
    Robin

2. HorizonSon

HorizonSon Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 5, 2010
    Pacific NW
    I say, "Go for it!". My hatchery Delawares will be 9 weeks old, this coming Monday:

[​IMG]

3. CMV

CMV Flock Mistress

Apr 15, 2009