Am I crazy!?

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by TClay, Mar 13, 2015.

1. TClay

TClay New Egg

Mar 13, 2015
    Centerville, Utah
    I'm in the process of figuring out what coop size to build. I'm reading everywhere that I need X square feet per bird. For the sake of the calculation let's say 4 square feet per bird. Let's say I want to have 3 chickens. The next thing I'm reading everywhere is that that calculation is 4 feet X 3 birds, or 12 square feet of floor space for my coop. I'm thinking that is incorrect. I'm thinking it's 4 feet X 4 feet (four square feet) x 3 birds or 48 square feet of floor space. Am I crazy? Bottom line I think I need to build a coop with a floor space that is 6 X 8 feet (48 square feet). Anyone else out there having problems understanding this chicken math?

2. Madddawg

Madddawg Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 2, 2015
    Missouri
    My Coop
    I am not well educated in raising chickens, as in this is my first year of doing it, but I would go as big as you can, space, time and money as you can afford. Don' look for the minimum, look for the maximum. You won't regret it in the future..

Unless things turn south on you for one reason or another with the chicks...

sorry not help with the math...

Last edited: Mar 13, 2015
  3. ChristieB

ChristieB Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 13, 2014
    Queensland
    ^^ always go as big as you can, you say in your example 3 hens, so according to chicken math you will end up with maybe 6 probably more, if you say 6 expect 10 say 10 you'll probably have 20

Last edited: Mar 13, 2015
  4. Madddawg

Madddawg Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 2, 2015
    Missouri
    My Coop
    Yup, I started with 8 chicks, within 3 weeks there was 16 total, not sure that happened but I guess that's chicken math....

5. Bradfordj

Bradfordj Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 11, 2015
    Saskatchewan, Canada