1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Am I going to be a new mother???

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by mudderhen, Aug 5, 2008.

1. mudderhen

mudderhen Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 27, 2008
    Clarkesville, GA
    Okay....
    I'm new to the whole hatching thing...... I admit, I need help, advice, something....

I had a friend give me four serama eggs. I placed them in the bator in a turner. I have kept the temp. at about 100-102 degrees depending on which thermometer out of three that you watch. The temp. has been constant though. The humidity has been around 50 % the entire time. I have candled twice and saw veining the first time, and only the air sac the second time. Thursday is day 21, and Sunday I took them out of the turner and placed them on their side on the screen in the bator, then I went to work for two days.

This evening, when I got home, one of the eggs has a yellow ring that you can see from the outside, where the edge of the air sac should be, and the rest of it is dark. The next two, are just sitting there, and the last one, has a small piece of shell missing on the side. It hasn't been like that before, and the internal membrane is still intact. Does it mean that it is pipping? Is it okay?
    This is a first for me, so any help is greatly appreciated.

2. arlee453

arlee453 Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 13, 2007
    near Charlotte NC
    The one with the hole sounds like a pip to me! They'll make that first hole, and then wait and wait....and wait...... and then ZIP! they're out!

Patience and sit on your hands and hopefully you'll have a couple chicks by day 21!

3. bangor777

bangor777 Chillin' With My Peeps

May 4, 2008
    yay a pip!!!! keep us posted!

4. mudderhen

Apr 27, 2008
    Clarkesville, GA