Am I having Rooster problems?

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Mojookie, Aug 20, 2013.

1. Mojookie

Mojookie Out Of The Brooder

Mar 2, 2013
    Good morning, I am new to the scene on having chickens. I have 11 chickens. 3 roosters and 8 hens. I got them approx 2 months ago. When I picked them up they were around 6 months old and the head rooster was 7 months old. I thought I had 10 hens, but 2 of the RIR's turned out to be roosters. Jeff the head rooster is an Americana I think. He seems to be a great rooster, protecting the flock and all. Abby one of the RIR roosters has come into his own and Jeff allows him to mate with some of the hens. There is this Buff Orffington (Peach) that he prefers to mate with and he mates with her multiple times. She seems paralyzed after he mates with her. When Jeff mates with her she just lets him and this paralysis doesn't happen. Only with Abby does it happen. I try to stay out of the chicken politics because they obviously have a lot of that going on, but sometimes have to interfere because he will trap her. She isn't the only one he tortures just the only one that is paralyzed. Any answers to what is going on?

2. 1muttsfan

1muttsfan Overrun With Chickens

Mar 26, 2011
    Upper Peninsula Michigan
    You might want to post this in the Chicken Behaviors section of the Forum - and welcome again.

3. Mojookie

Mar 2, 2013
    Ok thanks for the help :) Now I'm getting the hang of it.

4. drumstick diva

drumstick diva Still crazy after all these years. Premium Member

Aug 26, 2009
    Out to pasture